Christine Syquia's Blog

Learn How to Create Your Own Income

Maintaining Focus on Your Start-up Business Until You are Able to Quit Your Day Job

Before I started as an independent marketer, I had previously owned a successful accessories company for six years.  In the first year of our inception, I had to work two jobs. One a corporate day job and then I ran my own business at night and weekends.  God, that was exhausting.

Even though it was tiring, I was able to keep my focus with a steady stream of coffee and keeping my goals ever present.  I have always had a vision board. Sometimes, I put different images up in my office but mostly, I have the things I want to have in my life in my thoughts. I think about what I want for my life several times a day. I do not have the mindset of ‘When will it happen?’ rather, my mindset is ‘It is coming to me soon.’

I make many sacrifices. I routinely sleep 5-6 hours a night. Luckily, with my independent marketing job we sell health and wellness so I take plenty of supplements to keep me healthy. I also use our weight-loss program to maintain my weight. It helps me because I can grab some bars or protein shakes and run out the door.  I do not have time for television and I have to make sure my time is carefully regimented.  I know that while in my car, I can call my girlfriends and chat but sometimes, I set up my laptop in the passenger seat in my car and I set up a podcast on something that will help me develop my business. I am always multi-tasking.  Until, I reach my goals, I will maintain this lifestyle.

I have listed below several ideas that may be helpful while you are juggling your two jobs-

  • Keep goals in sight-Fiercely guard your dreams.  There are many dream stealers out there. Avoid them.  Visualize what it will be like once you accomplish your goals.  Taste it.  Feel it.
  • Avoid distractions-I have eliminated anything that is unproductive.  I love watching films and TV as much as the next person. However, for me to accomplish my goals that type of behavior is not helpful to me.  Everything I do is moving towards my goals.
  • Track your time-Sometimes I have to really plan my day out. I need to make sure every minute is productive.  I often question if something is worth doing or if I can push it to another later date. For instance, I do not go to the mall anymore. I shop online so I do not waste time driving, walking around the mall etc.
  • Get organized-Organize your files, desk, purse or anything else that is cluttered.  A lot of time is wasted when one is aimlessly looking for something.
  • Start slow-Rome was not built in a day and neither will your business. In fact, many a business has closed due to too aggressive growth. Take it slow.
  • Give something up-Let’s face it, you will have to give something up. Maybe it is as simple as not going to your Book Club groups or maybe you will have to scale back your gym time.  Unfortunately, you will not be able to do everything.  Remember it is not going to be for forever.
  • Plan ahead-Make your 6 month plan, 1 year plan, 2 year plan. The key is in the planning. I love the saying-How will you know where you are going if you do not have a plan?

Succeeding at your own business is incredibly rewarding. The steps toward accomplishing your dream can take time and at times, doubt may creep through.  However, when I am questioning myself, it only takes about 1minute for me to remember my goals for myself and my family. If you are one of the reported 70% of Americans who hate their jobs, think about what really moves and inspires you. Maybe you will take the leap of faith and do what you really want to do with your life. Think about it.

Christine Syquia is an independant marketer with The Trump Network. She can be reached at christine@ChristineSyquia.com or 323-974-6190.

 

December 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

